• about the ellak
  • join the ellak
  • About the JELL
  • ELLAK Newsletter
  • convention
  • seminar&lectures
  • committees
  • awards
  • links
  • contact us

홈> Committees > Book Awards Committees

Book Awards

YBM Best Book Award
The YBM Best Book Award was established to further encourage ELLAK members' research activities. The award is presented to the best book selected among books published by the members.

Regulations for the YBM Best Book Award
Article 1 (Name and Objective)
The name of this award shall be the YBM Book Award (its former name: the Academic Award for English Language and Literature), and the purpose of the award shall be to encourage members of the English Language and Literature Association of Korea (ELLAK) to actively engage in academic research activities.
Article 2 (Funding)
This award shall be funded by a contribution of 50 million won that was donated by YBM Chairman Young-Bin Min to ELLAK in May 2011.
Article 3 (Award Criteria)
Outstanding academic books written by ELLAK members shall be eligible for consideration. One academic book per year will be awarded. Books eligible for consideration must have been published in the domestic market within one year as of July 31 of the relevant year.
Article 4 (Composition and Activities of the Selection Committee)
The Selection Committee shall be established for the operation and selection of the award. Selection Committee members shall serve one-year terms, however consecutive appointments may be permitted. The Selection Committee Chair shall also serve as the Vice President of ELLAK (Seoul), while the Selection Committee members shall be appointed by the Board of Directors. The Selection Committee members shall consist of five or more scholars, including the Chair, who are responsible for selecting books within the field of language and literature.
Article 5 (Application Method)
ELLAK shall announce the award to its members and encourage those members whose publications are eligible during the period of consideration to apply for the award. The Selection Committee members and the Board shall, if they identify distinguished books in each respective field, encourage the authors to apply for the award. The deadline for applications almost always falls on August 15 of each year. Applicants shall submit the following documents.
1) One completed application as indicated
2) One-page autobiographical statement
3) Two copies of the applicant's relevant book
Article 6 (Selection Process)
Applications shall go through preliminary and primary screenings. The former shall be initiated around the end of August, and the latter shall be completed by mid-October.
Article 7 (Award)
The President of the English Language and Literature Association of Korea shall award the final recipient with a plaque and an additional prize at the annual ELLAK academic conference.
Article 8
Other details which are not prescribed in the Regulations shall be determined by ELLAK.
1. The Regulations shall enter into force on July 1, 2011.

1st Organizers (2011.2-2012.1)

Chair : Sooyoung Chon, Ewha Womans University
Members : Yongsoon Kang, Sungkyunkwan University

Min-Jung Kim, Ewha Womans University
Joon-Hwan Kim, Yonsei University
Keonjong Yoh, Sookmyung Women's University
Kyu-Hyung Cho, Korea University
Hoonsung Hwang, Dongguk University

2nd Organizers (2009.2-2011.1)

Chair : Dauk-Shun Hong, Sungkyunkwan University
Members : Young Kook Kwon, Dongduk Women's University

Seongje Kim, Hanyang University
Yangsoon Kim, Korea University
Jong-Seong Park, Chungnam National University
Sejae Chun, Sookmyung Women's University

3rd Organizers (2013.2-2014.1)

Chair : WooSoo Park Hankuk University of Foreign Studies
Members : Youngmin Kim, Dongguk University

Jae H. Roe, Songang University
Seeyoung Park, Ewha Womans University
E. Chull Wang, Chonbuk National University

4th Organizers (2012.2-2013.1)

Chair: E. Chull Wang, Chonbuk National University
Members: Yungduk Kim, Kyungpook National University

Kyung Won Lee, Yonsei University
Seung-Ah Lee, Ewha Womans University
Hyesook Son, Sungkyunkwan University
Jin Hee Yim, Namseoul University

6th Organizers (2014.2-2015.1)

Chair: Keonjong Yoh, Sookmyung Women's University
Members: Doseon Eur, Korea University

Inhan Jeon, University of Seoul
Tae-Kyung Kang, Ewha Womans University
Sang-yule Kim, Sookmyung Women's University
Jeonghee Sohn, Chung-Ang University

7th Organizers (2015.2-2016.1)

Chair: Seong Je Kim, Hanyang University
Members: Ji Hyun An, Seoul National University

Sung Hee Choi, Ewha Womans University
Suk Koo Rhee, Yonsei University
Keonjong Yoh, Sookmyung Women's University
Joon Yoon, Paichai University